André and Berthe Noufflard

Exhibition



Thirty years of André et Berthe Noufflard's Prize
Seventeen laureates of the Prize exhibit beside André et Berthe Noufflard.
Until 9 to 19 december 2015
Galerie de la Cité Internationale des Arts, Paris.

Press file

Download PDF

Berthe Noufflard, painter

born Langweil, 1886-1971


Though she undertook other art forms - landscapes, small groups of friends, still lifes, making of dolls , Berthe Noufflard was essentially a portraitist, perhaps like her earliest professor, Jacques-Emile Blanche , with whom she and André remained closely allied until his death in 1942.

François Bergot described her work as "painted memories" or "intimate diaries" perhaps because, aside from a limited number of commissions, she mostly used close friends and family as models.

Both Berthe and André, who lost their fathers early in life were reared by their mothers. Berthe painted her imposing mother, Mme Langweil,( famous art dealer of far eastern art) several times as well as her mother-in-law Mme Emilia Noufflard, who as a young widow had settled permanently in Florence, her birthplace, though she often visited her children in France.

Florence was the name of André's elder sister with whom he was always close. She detected his talent at an early age and encouraged his artistic studies. She also influenced André's destiny when she married Elie Halévy, brilliant philosopher and historian, thereby establishing her home in France which provided André with another base. Throughout their lives the two couples, Noufflard and Halévy, remained close; their interests and many friendships being closely interwoven.

Berthe made only a few self-portraits including the very Davidian "Auto-portrait à la palette" dated 1913-14. To the contrary she painted André throughout all the years of their harmonious union from the early period showing him playing solitaire (1912 ), "The tall young man with a racket" evoked by by Alain the year before in Propos 78 of his 101 Propos, continuing through André's maturity, depicting him at their home, rue de Varenne reading ( 1945 ) or in the living room at Fresnay ( 1962 ).

Image flottanteAmong other joys, the birth of their two daughters, Henriette (1915 ), future doctor and Geneviève, (1920 )future musician, gave Berthe that of painting children, capturing their unaffected purity. (Geneviève in her high chair and Henriette with a crown of daisies ). She, of course, continued to paint both of her daughters as adults.

Copyright (c) 2009 - All documents on this site are protected by copyright - Association Noufflard - All rights reserved.
Web design : Véronique Maronne / Galerie flash : Nicolas Lucas

André et Berthe Noufflard

Exposition



Trente ans de Prix de peinture André et Berthe Noufflard.
Dix-sept lauréats de ce Prix exposent aux cotés d'André et Berthe Noufflard.

Visite de l'exposition

Prix Noufflard 2017

Renseignements

Berthe Noufflard, portraitiste

née Langweil, 1886-1971


Bien qu'ayant abordé d'autres genres - paysages, scènes intimistes, natures mortes*, création de poupées- , Berthe Noufflard fut essentiellement portraitiste, à l'instar peut-être du maître de sa jeunesse, Jacques-Emile Blanche , avec qui André et elle resteront liés toute leur vie.

Et si François Bergot a pu voir son œuvre comme " des mémoires peints " ou comme " un journal intime ", c'est qu'elle a le plus souvent, à part quelques commandes, choisi ses modèles dans son entourage proche, familial et amical.

Leurs pères ayant disparu très tôt de leur vie, Berthe et André ont été chacun élevé par leur mère. Berthe a plusieurs fois représenté la sienne, l'imposante Mme Langweil, célèbre antiquaire d'art chinois et japonais, ainsi que la mère d'André, sa belle-mère, Mme Emilia Noufflard, née Landrini, qui, veuve jeune, s'était fixée à Florence, sa ville natale mais venait souvent séjourner en France.

Florence, c'est le nom qu'elle donnera à sa première fille, la sœur aînée d'André, dont il sera toujours très proche. Florence détectera très tôt les dons de son frère pour le dessin et la peinture et l'encouragera dans ses études artistiques. Elle infléchira également son destin en épousant Elie Halévy, brillant philosophe et historien qui marquera son siècle, et en se fixant en France, où André aura désormais un nouveau point d'attache. Toute leur vie, les deux couples Noufflard et Halévy sont restés extrêment proches ; les intérêts et les amitiés des deux ménages ont été constamment intriqués.

D'elle-même Berthe fit quelques rares portraits, dont le très davidien «Autoportrait à la palette» de 1913-14. En revanche elle peignit André tout au long de leur longue et harmonieuse vie commune, depuis la jeunesse où l'on peut retrouver dans l'André faisant une patience de 1912 " le grand jeune homme à raquette " qu'évoquait Alain l'année précédente dans le Propos LXXVIII de ses Cent un Propos jusqu'à la maturité des André lisant, rue de Varenne (1945) ou dans le salon de Fresnay (1962).

Image flottanteEntre autres bonheurs, la naissance de leurs deux filles, Henriette en 1915, futur médecin et Geneviève en 1920, future musicienne, apporta à Berthe celui de peindre les enfants dont elle sait admirablement capter la fraîcheur et le naturel (Geneviève sur sa chaise de bébé, 1921, Henriette couronnée de pâquerettes, 1923 ). Et naturellement elle continua à prendre ses filles pour modèles quand elles furent adultes.

Copyright (c) 2009 - Tous les documents présents sur ce site sont protégés par copyright - Association André et Berthe Noufflard - Tous droits réservés.
Web design : Véronique Maronne / Galerie flash : Nicolas Lucas